Skip to main content

2022 Urban Expo Ceremony and Student Projects 

On Thursday, March 10, 2022, UC San Diego's Urban Studies and Planning Department will host the 32nd Annual Urban Expo Awards ceremony. 

Friends, family, and mentors of USP and RED capstone students can watch the awards live streamed starting at 5pm PST via this link: Watch to see the over 20 awards given to students for their work on their senior project and achievement within the Department of USP. The ceremony will also be recorded and later posted online. 

The Expo is a unique event that brings together students, faculty, staff, and the San Diego community to celebrate the research capstone projects of Urban Studies & Planning and Real Estate & Development graduating students.

Student Research Exhibits Focus on:

  • Real Estate & Development
  • Architecture & Urban Design
  • Community & Economic Development
  • Environment
  • Housing
  • Infrastructure and Public Facilities,
  • Public Health, Safety and Welfare
  • Transportation Planning
  • Urban and Regional Planning

Here is the link to view past award Expo Winners. 


2021 Project Galleries (2022 Project Galleries coming soon!)

The Project Galleries are composed of posters, papers, and media created from by students for their senior projects. 

2022 Urban Expo Ceremony

View Here

2021 RED Student Projects

View Here

2021 USP Student Projects

View Here

2022 Urban Expo Award Recipients

Academic Distinction Award
Justin Kim (RED)
Liz Laing (USP)

Meritorious Community Service Award
Shunyi Hu (RED)

Derek Meksavanh (USP)

Placemaking Award
Anna Dan

Pete Georgiou Award for Service to USP
Sarah Rieble

Emerging Scholar Award (Brutten Award)
Isabel Perez

Emerging Innovator Award (Brutten Award)
Taylor Kempf

Emerging Leader Award (Brutten Award)
Bess Brandow
Outstanding Teaching Assistant
Sarah McTague
Best USP Senior Research Project
Parker Friederich

Best RED Capstone Project
Justin Kim
Shea Bartolino
Dylan Nobel

Callie Lau

RED Capstone Project Runner Up
Bailey Stubbs
Braden White
Brendan Smith

John Martinez

Digital Media Awards
Athena Skoufias (1st Place)
Anupama Sethuraman (2nd Place)
Derek Meksavanh (3rd Place)

USP Poster Awards
Parker Friederich (1st place)
Stephanie Holder (2nd Place)

Yichen Wang (3rd Place)

Alumni of the Year
Robert Clossin 

The Stephen Lew ’01 Civic Leadership Award in Urban Studies and Planning
Elinor Oren